January 12, 2018, 12:33 am
Speaker Nagaland Legislative Assembly accepts resignation of Y Patton
Dimapur: Nagaland Legislative Assembly Speaker, Dr. Imtiwapang Aier has today accepted the resignation tendered by Y. Patton from the membership of the Twelfth Nagaland Legislative Assembly w.e.f. 11.01.2018.
Consequent upon the resignation, the Speaker, has declared the seat under 37-Tyui Assembly Constituency as vacant w.e.f. 11.01.2018 informed Commissioner & Secretary, NLA, N. Benjamin Newmai. Y Patton, former home minister has tendered his resignation from the membership of the House on January 10.
CEO Nagaland informs on National Election Quiz
Dimapur: Election Commission of India has informed that the winning school team of the first ever National Election Quiz will be representing Nagaland in the semi-finals and finals to be conducted in New Delhi from January 14 to 15. All 34 states/UTs will be competing in the quiz competition.
The Intra School competition on the theme was held across the State in November 2017 and the winners competed in the District Round during 1st week of December last. The winners of District Round then competed in the State Round on December 15. The team from Ministers' Hill Baptist Higher Secondary School, Kohima, represented by Merio N. Ngullie, Class-12 and Kekhriese Yhoshu, Class-11 emerged as the winners of the State round.
Chief Electoral Officer of Nagaland Abhijit Sinha has appointed Bachu Yhoshu, Assistant Professor, Sao Chang Government College, Tuensang as the Liaison Officer of the competitors. The Semi Finals and Finals shall be held in the Rajya Sabha TV Studio from January 14-15t. This coverage shall be telecast across the country later. As and when the telecast schedule is given by the ECI, it shall be shared with both electronic and print media for publicity so that the citizens shall be able to watch the national events in Nagaland.

About Author